Gillman selected as UCI Chancellor

September 2014

University of California President Janet Napolitano has announced that she has selected UC Irvine Provost Howard Gillman, Ph.D., now serving as interim chancellor, to lead the campus as its sixth chancellor. The UC Board of Regents will vote on the selection and terms of his appointment in a special session scheduled for September 18.

Learn More:

New Chair of Criminology, Law and Society

August 2014

Cheryl Maxson is the new Chair of the Department of Criminology, Law and Society.

Maxson is internationally known for her work on the juvenile justice system and gangs. Over the course of her career, she has produced a body of work that has had a tremendous impact on how we understand the social organization of gangs and interventions into gang behavior. More locally—here at UCI—she is equally well-known as a committed teacher and public servant. With regard to the latter, she has served her department and the campus in a variety of visible and not-so-visible ways, including as Graduate Director in the Department of Criminology, Law and Soceity. Along the way she has revealed an abiding commitment to collaboration, shared governance, fairness, collegiality, and excellence. She is easily identifiable as a colleague who appreciates the blend of scholarship, teaching, and service that is highly valued in the school and at UCI.

View Maxson's Faculty Profile



California Community relying on bottled water

August 2014

David Feldman, Chair and Professor in Planning, Policy, and Design, was quoted in The Huffington Post, regarding the effects of the drought on a community in Central California. The residents of East Porterville have been without running water for months, since their wells had run dry, and recently received 15,552 1-gallon water bottles after county officials found out about their shortage of water. "I think wherever you have some degree of urban growth and continued pressures on supply–drought in particular–and not many sources of supply, you’re likely to see this kind of thing," states Feldman.

Summer Research Program in Social Ecology

August 2014

The Departments of Psychology and Social Behavior (PSB) and Criminology, Law, and Society (CLS) recently concluded the second year of the three year "Summer Research Program in Social Ecology" through the UC-Historically Black Colleges and Universities (UC-HBCU) Initiative. This eight-week summer program at the UCI campus provided a unique research opportunity for several advanced HBCU students committed to pursuing doctoral education at the University of California. Through an intensive educational and mentoring experience, these UCI Summer Research Scholars acquired the skills crucial for their success as doctoral students, including hands-on research experience, participation in graduate-style seminars, and dissemination of scientific research in academic forums.

Proshansky-Newman Professional Achievement Award

August 2014

Daniel Stokols, Research Professor and Chancellor's Professor Emeritus, has received the Proshansky-Newman Professional Achievement Award for Career Contributions to Enviromental and Population Psychology. This award is presented annually by the American Psychological Association (APA) Division 34 of the Environmental, Population, and Conservation Psychology to recognize scholarly contriibutions to these areas of psychological science. Stokols received the award at the APA conference that was held in Washington D.C.

California groundwater lawsuit

August 2014

David Feldman, Chair and Professor in Planning, Policy, and Design, was quoted in The Desert Sun regarding the recent lawsuit filed by the First Amendment Coalition against the Desert Water Agency and Coachella Valley Water District and their refusal to release data on the desert's largest groundwater users. "Public entities are expected by the public to make an honest appraisal of where they're getting their resource, and who's using their resource," Feldman said. "And it seems to me you have to have pretty compelling reasons why you wouldn't make that information available, or why you'd want to conceal it in some way."

Read Article

M. Feldman on Highly Cited Researchers list

August 2014

Martha Feldman, Professor of Planning, Policy, and Design and Johnson Chair for Civic Governance and Public Management, is among the the top 1 percent of scientific researchers, according to the 2014 Highly Cited Researchers list produced by Thomson Reuters. Feldman is one of 10 UCI faculty members on the list that represents more than 3,000 researchers worldwide, who earned the distinction by publishing the most influential studies in their fields.

Learn More:

Dan and Jeanne Stokols Graduate Fellowship Award

August 2014

Chancellor's Professor Emeritus and previous Dean of Social Ecology Daniel Stokols and his wife, Jeannette, have made a recent gift to the School of Social Ecology to establish the “Dan and Jeanne Stokols Social Ecology Graduate Fellowship Award.”  This endowed fellowship fund will support the outstanding transdisciplinary research of a Social Ecology graduate student and/or may be used to recruit an outstanding student to the Social Ecology doctoral program.  This fund will be matched by the Graduate Division for ten years and will represent important recognition for one or two meritorious students each year, beginning in 2015, and into perpetuity.



Subscribe to RSS - News